About the GRE® test

 GRE® test stands for GRADUATE RECORD EXAMINATIONS®. There are two types of GRE® tests: (1) GRE® General test, and (2) GRE® Subject test


GRE general test

The GRE® General Test measures verbal reasoning, quantitative reasoning, critical thinking, and analytical writing skills that have been acquired over a long period of time and that are not related to any specific field of study. The GRE® General Test is required by many graduate and professional schools in the U.S and is an important criterion for admission to their graduate programmes. Applicants must submit their GRE® scores together with certain other records/requirements as part of the process of admission to graduate schools. The GRE® is administered by Educational Testing Services (ETS). ETS is responsible for conducting the GRE® test under the guidance of the college education board of the U.S. GRE is a multiple-choice Computer Adaptive test and it is a mandatory for students seeking Masters Degree or PhD degrees in the USA for most of the Universities.


Test pattern

  • Verbal section

The skills measured include the test taker's ability to analyze and evaluate written material and synthesize information obtained from it analyze relationships among component parts of sentences recognize relationships between words and concepts.

  • 30 questions in 30 mins
  • Score range: 200 – 800 Analogies, Antonyms, Sentence Completion, Reading Comprehension
  • Quantitative Section

The skills measured include the test taker's ability to understand basic concepts of arithmetic, algebra, geometry, and data analysis reason quantitatively solve problems in a quantitative setting

  • 28 questions in 45 mins
  • Score range: 200 – 800
  • Quantitative Comparison, Discrete Math, Data Interpretation
  • Analytical Writing Assessment (AWA) 


The skills measured include the test taker's ability to articulate complex ideas clearly and effectively examine claims and accompanying evidence support ideas with relevant reasons and examples sustain a well-focused, coherent discussion control the elements of standard written English

  • 2 essays
  • Analysis of an Issue (45 mins.)
  • Analysis of an Argument (30 mins.)


Total score range for the test: 400 – 1600 (Verbal + Quantitative); 0 – 6 (AWA)


The GRE® scores are technically valid for five years However, most of the top universities do not consider scores more than two years old .Being a Computer Adaptive Test, it is conducted throughout the year, on all weekdays you can register for the test online at OR by post/ telephone/ fax.

Test fees is US$180 This includes reporting your scores to 4 universities of your choice, on the day of the test If you want to report your scores to additional universities (or if you do not report your scores to any university on your test day, and would like to do so later), the fee is US$20 per university.

The GRE is a computer-adaptive test, which means your performance on previous questions determines which question you'll be asked next. The change to GRE has been cancelled.


Computer Adaptive Test

The GRE® Test is a CAT (Computer Adaptive Test). This means that the computer adapts the level of the questions to the test-taker's ability. Initially questions of medium difficulty level are administered to test – taker. If he / she answers these questions correctly, a more difficult question is given. Otherwise, an easier question is administered. So, at every stage, the computer tailors the test to the examinee's level. In this examination, the score depends both on the number of questions attempted and the number of correct responses.


Some points which you must know about the Computer Adaptive Test

  • In verbal section each question has five answer choices and you must select one choice as your answer
  • In the quantitative ability section each problem solving and data interpretation question has five answer choices. However, quantitative comparison questions have only 4 answer choices.
  • Only one question appears at a time. To move to the next question, you have to mark an answer to the question that is currently on your screen
  • Once you have confirmed your answer to a question you can't go back to a question and change your answer
  • The questions are graded into 5 categories ranging from the easy to the hard category
  • More points are awarded for getting the harder questions right
  • You are penalized for not completing the test. Hence, your score depends on your accuracy, the difficulty level of the questions and the number of questions you attempted. At the beginning of the test, every candidate gets a question of average difficulty level (level 2 or 3)

Questions in the verbal and the quantitative sections need not always be administered in groups. For example, if the first question that appears in the verbal section is an antonym, then you need not necessarily get a series of questions on antonyms alone. Two questions on antonyms may be followed by one question on analogies, followed by one on sentence completion. In other words, questions can appear in any particular order. Similarly, in the quantitative section, one question on problem solving may be followed by one question on quantitative comparison. This may be followed by one question on problem solving. Hence, the type of question that will come next cannot be predicted